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Message From the Board Chair
If you're a history buff (like me) who
 enjoys poking around in the past, I
 think you will appreciate the project
 that CSLB staff has been working
 on in recent months. They have
 been on a "treasure hunt" of sorts,
 going deep into the vaults of the
 California State Library and other
 sources to find almost all of the
 known back issues of CSLB's

 California Licensed Contractor (CLC) newsletter dating to 1937. The
 historic editions now are available for public viewing. Staff members
 also managed to unearth transcripts from early Board meetings, and
 CSLB plans to post those online in the near future.

The documents shed a fascinating light on CSLB and several of its
 leaders during the formative years, and upon the California construction
 industry and the pivotal role it played in the state's tremendous growth
 and change.

Here are a few snippets from CSLB's back pages that I found interesting:

Warren A. Bechtel Jr., son of the founder of
 engineering/contracting giant Bechtel, served as the Board's first
 chair. The younger Bechtel, an engineering contractor, presided
 over the first meeting of the Contractors' State License Board on
 November 18, 1935, in Sacramento.
Another name stands out from that first meeting, although for
 different reasons. William G. Bonelli was CSLB's first Registrar,
 and also held the distinction of being CSLB's first licensee. But
 his fortunes turned after he left CSLB to oversee the State Board
 of Equalization, the agency that approved liquor licenses. Bonelli
 was later indicted, along with six others, by a Los Angeles grand
 jury on charges of soliciting bribes in a $10 million "annual liquor
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 license payoff scandal." He was later accused in a series of
 articles by the Los Angeles Times of liquor license kickbacks,
 bribery and criminal associations. Bonelli vigorously fought his
 accusers, but he fled to Mexico under the threat of another grand
 jury indictment. He never returned to the U.S., dying in Mexico in
 1970.
In May 1942, California Governor Culbert L. Olson used the CLC
 to deliver a reassuring message to the state's construction
 industry in the months following the Japanese attack on Pearl
 Harbor, Hawaii.
"At this writing, many rumors are circulating as to
 what officialdom will decree for the construction industry," Olson
 wrote in his open letter. "Many of these are just plain conjecture
 and untrue."

CSLB certainly had its share of interesting moments and personalities,
 but of more lasting impact has been its development as a consumer
 protection agency and regulator of the construction industry. We've
 certainly come a long way as an organization.

Standards for contractors weren't particularly demanding when CSLB
 first came into existence. Pay $5, and you got a contractor license. No
 examination was required, and you could work in any trade you wished.
 Applicants were only required to display a "good character," and there is
 no record of anyone being turned down for a license.


But a series of laws passed by the Legislature in the 1930s and early
 1940s laid down criteria to become a licensed contractor, and defined
 the rules of licensee conduct. A modern-day CSLB was taking shape.

The first license exam was given to contractor applicants on Oct. 9, 1939,
 replacing the "good character" standard applied previously. A few years
 later, another step toward responsible contracting was taken when
 licensees were required to specify their field of practice within CSLB's
 "A," "B," and "C" classification system.

Since then, the Board has revised many of the classifications to stay
 current with industry, and, as situations called for it, added new classes
 (such as the C-22 Asbestos Abatement contractor class added this
 year). The state Legislature and governors, at the urging of the Board,
 have continued to strengthen the Contractors' State License Law and
 consumer protections through the years.

That mission continues to this day. CSLB has consistently sponsored
 legislation that safeguards the public, while maintaining the integrity of
 the construction industry.

It's also interesting to see that our message in the newsletters remains
 much the same today as it did in CSLB's early history: the danger of
 unlicensed contractors, risks inherent with verbal-only contracts, news of
 Board appointments, pending legislation, and, as is done today, the
 disclosure of contractor suspensions and revocations.

I hope you'll take a look at the past issues, and appreciate the
 contributions you've all made to one of California's most important
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Governor Signs Home Improvement
 Salesperson Bill; 3 Others on Desk

Home improvement
 salespersons (HIS) who
 represent licensed
 contractors when selling
 goods and services soon
 will only have to register
 once with CSLB.
 Governor Edmund G.
 Brown Jr. has signed
 Senate Bill 561 into law,
 simplifying the HIS

 registration process to a single registration while still allowing
 salespeople to represent multiple employers.

Three other bills that impact contractors were passed by the Legislature
 during the 2014-15 session, and are on the Governor's desk. He has
 until October 11 to take action on SB 119, SB 467 and SB 560.

SB 561 removes the current requirement that an HIS register separately
 with CSLB for each contractor that employs them, beginning January 1,
 2016.

Business and Professions Code section 7153 requires that anyone
 who solicits, sells, negotiates, or executes home improvement contracts
 for a licensed contractor outside of the contractor's normal place of
 business must register with CSLB as an HIS.

SB 561, authored by Sen. Bill Monning (D-Carmel) and sponsored by
 CSLB, will simplify and quicken the registration process in response to
 the rapid growth in the number of HIS applications, particularly for
 employees who work in the solar industry. CSLB received more than
 1,000 HIS applications per month in fiscal year 2014-15, which
 represents more than an 80 percent jump compared to the average for
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 the previous three years.

In addition to the single registration provision, SB 561 will:

Require a contractor to notify CSLB in writing prior to employing a
 registered HIS, and when employment ceases;
Allow CSLB to accept an electronic application and signature from
 an HIS applicant after adoption of regulations specifying the form,
 and manner of electronic submissions;
Require an HIS to have a current and valid registration with CSLB
 before making sales calls and transactions on behalf of a
 contractor; and
Provide that registrations will be valid for two years from the
 month of issue.

CSLB staff is already at work putting systems in place for the new
 registration process. More information will be available in the coming
 weeks on CSLB's website.

Other bills of interest that are in front of the Governor:

SB 119, the "Safe Dig Act," would create a California
 Underground Facilities Safe Excavation Advisory Committee
 under CSLB's purview to investigate damages to underground
 installations during excavations, and violations of pre-dig
 notification requirements. The bill is sponsored by Sen. Jerry
 Hill, D-San Mateo. The committee would develop standards
 related to safe excavation procedures, investigate reported
 violations of dig requirements, and coordinate education and
 outreach activities. CSLB would appoint three of the 11 members
 of the committee. CSLB, utility companies, and contractor groups
 worked to refine the bill.
SB 467 (Hill) would extend CSLB's "sunset date," an action that
 essentially allows CSLB to continue operations until 2020. The
 bill also would eliminate the requirement that contractor
 applicants prove they have $2,500 in working capital as a
 condition of obtaining a license, but would raise the amount of the
 contractor bond that licensees must post from $12,500 to
 $15,000.
SB 560 (Monning), also sponsored by CSLB, would allow CSLB
 enforcement representatives (ERs) to issue a Notice to Appear
 (NTA) in a superior court to an unlicensed contractor for failure to
 carry valid and current workers' compensation (WC) insurance.
 ERs can cite individuals for contracting without a license, but not
 those found without a required WC insurance policy. Currently,
 only district attorney offices can issue WC citations.

You can follow a bill's progress and amendments, or search for
 legislation of interest, on the Office of Legislative Counsel's
 legislative information website.

https://www2.cslb.ca.gov/OnlineServices/MailList/MailSignup.aspx
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
http://sd13.senate.ca.gov/
http://sd13.senate.ca.gov/
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes.xhtml


IN THIS EDITION:

Chair's Report


Governor Signs Home
 Improvement
 Salesperson Bill; 3
 Others on Desk


CSLB Ratchets Up
 Campaign Against
 Service and Repair
 Abuses


New State Energy-
Efficiency Standards
 Are Coming for
 Builders


CSLB Helping
 Communities in Fire
 Disaster Recovery


Don't Get Caught
 Going Over the Line
 for Restoration
 Services


Company Officials
 Found Guilty for Cave-
In Fatality, Sentenced


Complaints Against
 Your License Can
 Stay on Record Long
 After Offense

CSLB Ratchets Up Campaign Against
 Service and Repair Abuses
Service and repair contracts
 remain one of the leading
 sources of consumer
 complaints to CSLB, despite a
 stepped-up education and
 enforcement campaign to curb
 such abuses.

Contractors who work in the
 service and repair industry
 should be aware that CSLB
 investigators have received
 special training to identify
 violations, and are targeting
 operators who take advantage
 of consumers. More service
 and repair cases are being referred to local district attorney's offices for
 criminal prosecution.

What's allowed under a service and repair contract, and how it differs
 from a standard home improvement contract, are clearly identified in
 Business and Professional Code sections 7159 and 7159.10.

Here are the main points to remember:

Service and Repair Contract

The work requested is typically for an emergency replacement or
 fix; contact is initiated by the customer on short notice.
The total price for labor and materials is $750 or less.
The contract document should be printed with the title: Service
 and Repair Contract.
The contract document includes room for a signature, the date
 and a statement that reads: YOUR RIGHT TO CANCEL
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 BEFORE WORK BEGINS.
The three-day right to cancel ends as soon as the contract is
 signed and work begins, unless the contractor fails to comply with
 any of the specified requirements.
As the contractor, you cannot sell goods or services beyond what
 is reasonable and necessary to take care of the problem being
 serviced or repaired.
No payment is due or should be accepted by the contractor until
 the work is completed. The service and repair contractor may
 charge only one service fee.
Any work beyond the initial replacement or repair may not be
 done without negotiation of a standard home improvement
 contract.
Any parts that were replaced by the contractor must be offered to
 the customer.
A customer may request that the contractor sign a release from
 lien claim for work that is done.

Standard Home Improvement Contract

The contract is not for urgent service and repair, and negotiations
 to enter into a contract can be initiated by the contractor or the
 customer.
The total price for labor and materials is $500 or more. (The work
 is not for an emergency replacement or repair of $750 or less.)
A home improvement contract is an agreement between a
 contractor and a property owner or tenant that includes
 descriptions of all labor, services, and materials to be furnished
 and performed.
The customer has until midnight of the third business day after
 signing the agreement or purchase to cancel the contract.
The down payment can only be 10 percent of the total contract
 price or $1,000, whichever is less.
For repairs in a state- or federally-declared disaster zone, the
 customer has seven days to cancel the contract with no
 obligation for payment.
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New State Energy-Efficiency Standards Are
 Coming for Builders

Licensed contractors will
 have an important role in
 California's march toward
 increased energy efficiency
 standards. The California
 Energy Commission (CEC)
 in June approved the 2016
 Building Energy Efficiency
 Standards that will require
 builders to use the most
 energy-efficient technologies

 and construction to cut energy use in homes and buildings.

The efficiency standards are scheduled to take effect in January 2017.
 Single-family homes built to the 2016 standards will use about 28
 percent less energy for lighting, heating, cooling, ventilation, and water
 heating than those built to the 2013 standards. The rules will vary
 according to CEC climate zones.

The standards would bring the state closer to meeting the ambitious Zero
 Net Energy goal (ZNE) set by the Legislature in 2008 that called for all
 new homes to be ZNE-compliant by 2020 and commercial buildings by
 2030.

The construction and design changes required to achieve these targets
 include:

Residential

High-performance attics featuring extra insulation to reduce
 summer temperatures by 35 degrees or more during hot summer
 days;
High-performance walls to reduce heating and cooling costs year-
round;
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Ultra-efficient lighting controls that require half the energy of lights
 in new homes today; and
Tankless water heaters that reduce energy costs by about 35
 percent.

Nonresidential

Outer building (envelop) requirement revisions for all
 nonresidential and high-rise residential buildings;
Power requirement updates for lights to align with American
 Society of Heating, Refrigeration, and Air-Conditioning
 Engineers (ASHRAE) standards
Lockout sensors that turn off heating and cooling systems if a
 window or door is left open for more than five minutes; and
Energy-saving modes for escalators and elevators when not in
 use.

According to CEC, on average, the 2016 Building Energy Efficiency
 Standards will increase the cost of constructing a new home by about
 $2,700, but will save $7,400 in energy and maintenance costs over 30
 years.
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CSLB Helping Communities in Fire Disaster
 Recovery
CSLB is one of the first agencies to respond during the recovery process
 after structures are destroyed from fire, floods, earthquakes, or any other
 natural disaster.

CSLB investigators
 were on the move in
 late September,
 traveling to fire-
ravaged parts of
 Amador, Calaveras,
 and Lake counties,
 where thousands
 lost homes to the
 Butte Fire in the
 Sierra Nevada

 foothills and the Valley Fire in the Clearlake area. CSLB, along with
 representatives from the Department of Insurance, put "boots on the
 ground" at both disaster locations, meeting with victims and posting
 information warning against unlicensed contracting in the fire zones.

CSLB staff also were on the scene in the aftermath of two destructive
 blazes earlier in Lake County, joining with other agencies as part of a
 disaster response.

As a member of the Governor's Office of Emergency Services'
 disaster recovery team, CSLB participates at temporary Local
 Assistance Centers that are set up in affected communities. CSLB staff
 provides educational information about post-disaster contracting laws to
 property owners who will be looking for contractors to rebuild their
 homes and other structures.

CSLB also maintains a Disaster Help Center section on its website,
 under the Consumers tab.
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Don't Get
 Caught
 Going
 Over the
 Line for

 Restoration Services
CSLB is noticing a rise in incidents where unlicensed companies that
 advertise restoration or cleanup services are crossing the legal line into
 the kind of work that can only be done by licensed contractors.

CSLB recently cited a San Jose restoration services company for
 unlicensed contracting in connection with a Santa Cruz-area home
 cleanup, illustrating the risks of taking on remediation projects without a
 contractor license.

CSLB investigators had been called by a consumer who was concerned
 about a company's license status. A CSLB investigator discovered that a
 wall had been opened up and insulation torn out by the company
 representative trying to determine the extent of a mold problem.

That would not have been an issue had the company held a license as a
 "B" General Building Contractor or C-61, D-64 Non-Specialized
 Contractor, which allows restoration contractors to make structural
 alterations to a property to perform necessary inspections, removals,
 and repairs.

But the company was not licensed, and their representative's actions
 went beyond a non-invasive property cleanup, resulting in citations for
 unlicensed contracting and illegal advertising.

Remember, the Contractors' State License Law considers any alteration
 of a fixed structure – be it removal of drywall, floorboards, carpets, or
 walls – as work that requires a "B" General Building or C-61, D-64
 license.

Unlicensed companies or individuals may perform restoration/cleanups
 as long as no structural work is involved, and the cost of the work and
 /or materials is less than $500. Given that structural remediation often
 calls for work beyond the surface layer to repair damage from flooding,
 mold, fire, or other disasters, it's advisable that companies that seek this
 kind of business possess a "B" General Building or C-61, D-64
 contractor license and not risk violating the law.

https://www2.cslb.ca.gov/OnlineServices/MailList/MailSignup.aspx
http://cslb.ca.gov/About_Us/Library/Licensing_Classifications/B_-_General_Building_Contractor.aspx
http://cslb.ca.gov/About_Us/Library/Licensing_Classifications/C-61_Limited_Speciality/D-64_-_Non-Specialized.aspx
http://cslb.ca.gov/About_Us/Library/Licensing_Classifications/C-61_Limited_Speciality/D-64_-_Non-Specialized.aspx


IN THIS EDITION:

Chair's Report


Governor Signs Home
 Improvement
 Salesperson Bill; 3
 Others on Desk


CSLB Ratchets Up
 Campaign Against
 Service and Repair
 Abuses


New State Energy-
Efficiency Standards
 Are Coming for
 Builders


CSLB Helping
 Communities in Fire
 Disaster Recovery


Don't Get Caught
 Going Over the Line
 for Restoration
 Services


Company Officials
 Found Guilty for Cave-
In Fatality, Sentenced


Complaints Against
 Your License Can
 Stay on Record Long
 After Offense

To fulfill its consumer
 protection mission, CSLB's
 Enforcement division — with
 the help of partnering state
 agencies and local law
 enforcement — works hard to
 hold accountable those

 contractors who harm the public through illegal business
 practices.

Company Officials Found Guilty for Cave-In
 Fatality, Sentenced
The owner of a construction firm in Fremont and the company's project
 manager received two-year jail sentences in August for the 2012 cave-in
 death of a construction worker in Milpitas. Richard Liu and Dan Luo were
 convicted in May of involuntary manslaughter in the January 2012 death
 of Raul Zapata Mercado.

Liu owned U.S.-Sino Investment Inc., which was the general contractor
 for the home under construction. Luo was a project manager.

Mercado was killed when a 12-foot earthen retaining wall collapsed while
 he was installing a concrete foundation, according to a Cal/OSHA news
 release. Mercado had only been on the job for about two weeks.

The fatal accident occurred three days after a Milpitas city building
 inspector issued a Stop Order to Luo for failing to provide excavation
 shoring.

Cal/OSHA's investigation determined that at the time of the incident,
 neither the victim nor other employees were wearing any head
 protection. Also, the excavation wall had not been shored up, as
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 required by law, and it also was disclosed that the employer did not have
 a competent person on the job site to ensure that the wall was installed
 according to Cal/OSHA rules. Finally, Cal/OSHA noted that the employer
 had no workers' compensation insurance at the time of the incident.

A Cal/OSHA news release has more details.

CSLB suspended the company's contractor license within days of
 Mercado's death. Cal/OSHA issued 14 citations that totaled $168,175
 against the company in June 2012.

Liu had been in China at the time of Mercado's death. He did not return
 to the U.S. until last November, when he was arrested at San Francisco
 International Airport on a $1 million warrant, prosecutors said.

New Jail Term, Restitution
 Ordered for Repeat Paving
 Offender
Jail time keeps piling up for a notorious unlicensed
 operator caught for multiple paving scams around
 the state.

Already serving a 40-month sentence for ripping off consumers in Santa
 Cruz County, Alex Pike Mitchell was ordered to serve an extra two years
 behind bars for using the same paving ploy in San Bernardino County in
 2014. Mitchell earlier pleaded guilty to three felony counts of grand theft
 in that case. He must pay restitution to all of named victims from the
 original charges.

Mitchell's long record of exploits earned him a place on CSLB's Most
 Wanted list of egregious contracting violators last year.

He most often targeted the elderly or homeowners with long driveways,
 telling them variations of the same story – that he was working in the
 area, and had inexpensive, leftover paving materials. Once the contract
 was signed, Mitchell would collect down payments ranging from $1,000-
$2,500 and never return to do the work.

When questioned in a previous case about his actions, Mitchell told a
 probation officer, "I am a compulsive liar," and "I tell people what I think
 they want to hear."

Prior to his current sentence, Mitchell served a combination of jail time
 and mandatory supervision in San Diego County for victimizing
 homeowners with his paving offers. He was ordered to pay $9,300 in
 victim restitution in that case.
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Complaints Against Your License Can Stay
 on Record Long After Offense
Most licensed contractors are able to resolve their differences with
 customers to avoid having to respond to a complaint filed with CSLB.

CSLB is charged with licensing and regulating the construction industry
 in California, but is also mandated, by law to make public protection its
 No. 1 priority. CSLB provides this protection when it publically discloses
 disciplinary action against a license, which allows consumers,
 businesses, material suppliers, awarding authorities, and/or other
 contractors to make informed decisions before contracting with a
 licensed contractor.

CSLB's complaint-handling determination is based on Contractors' State
 License Law and the best interests of the public. Most complaints do not
 meet the requirements for public disclosure and do not result in formal
 disciplinary action. However, CSLB does disclose allegations from
 complaints that result in citations and formal accusations on its website,
 as well as the status of the license and workers' compensation
 insurance.

Also, CSLB may provide early disclosure of the date, nature, and status
 of complaints referred for investigation after a determination by CSLB
 enforcement staff and review by a supervisor that a probable violation
 has occurred that involves allegations that, if proven, pose a risk of harm
 to the public and would be appropriate for suspension or revocation of
 the license and/or criminal prosecution (Business and Professions
 Code (BPC) section 7124.6).

If you are a licensed contractor and a complaint is filed against your
 license, CSLB encourages you to cooperate in the investigation. Failure
 to comply with a written request of the Registrar is grounds for
 disciplinary action (BPC section 7111.1). When a complaint is filed
 against a licensee, if appropriate, CSLB will attempt to mediate and help
 achieve a resolution without disciplinary action. However, complaints
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http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=7111.1.&lawCode=BPC
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 involving serious violations of Contractors' State License Law, including,
 but not limited to, poor workmanship, abandonment, misuse of funds,
 failure to obtain a building permit, or failure to maintain workers'
 compensation for employees, can result in formal disciplinary action,
 even if the licensee does not have a history of complaints.

Citations are disclosed on CSLB's website from the date of issuance and
 for five (5) years from the date of compliance. Accusations that result in
 suspension, stayed suspension or stayed revocation of a contractor
 license are disclosed from the date the accusation is filed and for seven
 (7) years after the accusation has been settled, if no additional
 disciplinary actions have been filed against the licensee during the
 seven-year period. Revocations that are not stayed are disclosed
 indefinitely. Non-legal complaint files (hard copy) are purged after two
 years.

The board maintains a complaint history database that can be used to
 determine if a licensee is engaging in repeated acts that pose a threat to
 the public and are a cause for discipline. Licensees are expected to
 conduct their business in a professional manner as well as when
 working with CSLB staff.

While CSLB may assist in resolving complaints without formal
 disciplinary action, if the licensee continues to receive additional
 complaints of similar nature, CSLB may refer the contractor for formal
 disciplinary action for repeated acts (BPC section 7090.5), even though
 each individual act was resolved.

https://www2.cslb.ca.gov/OnlineServices/MailList/MailSignup.aspx
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=7090.5.&lawCode=BPC


IN THIS EDITION:

Chair's Report


Governor Signs Home
 Improvement
 Salesperson Bill; 3
 Others on Desk


CSLB Ratchets Up
 Campaign Against
 Service and Repair
 Abuses


New State Energy-
Efficiency Standards
 Are Coming for
 Builders


CSLB Helping
 Communities in Fire
 Disaster Recovery


Don't Get Caught
 Going Over the Line
 for Restoration
 Services


Company Officials
 Found Guilty for Cave-
In Fatality, Sentenced


Complaints Against
 Your License Can
 Stay on Record Long
 After Offense

You're on
 Shaky Ground
 if You Dig
 Without a
 Permit
No matter how minimal a
 project may seem,
 contractors who plan to

 dig or excavate are required to call 8-1-1 and, at least two days
 beforehand, coordinate with either the Underground Service Alert of
 Northern California (known as USA North) or Underground Service
 Alert of Southern California (aka DigAlert).

You must call 8-1-1 at least two working days, but not more than 14
 days, before starting your dig. You are not allowed to dig during that
 time.

You will be given a ticket number that references your dig information.
 Each contractor must have his or her own number. Sharing a ticket
 among contractors on a single job is not allowed. Tickets are valid for up
 to 28 days after they're issued.

Once the call is made, accurately outline your excavation area. Utility
 company representatives will visit within two working days either to mark
 or stake the horizontal path of their underground lines, provide
 information about the location, or advise whether there are lines in
 conflict with your project. Hand excavation may be required when
 digging around underground facilities.

Senate Bill 119, currently on the Governor's desk, will, if signed into law,
 significantly increase CSLB's excavation oversight and enforcement.
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http://www.usanorth.org/
http://www.usanorth.org/
http://www.digalert.org/home.html
http://www.digalert.org/home.html
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=201520160SB119
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Seismic Safety Evaluation Classes Offered
 to General Contractors
General contractors, particularly those who work in earthquake-
vulnerable parts of the state, are invited to attend a free training session
 intended at helping homeowners evaluate the seismic safety of their
 homes.

Classes on how to use FEMA's
 Simplified Seismic Assessment
 form are being offered in
 Riverside, Norwalk, and
 Sacramento in October. The
 training is sponsored by the
 California Earthquake
 Authority, Governor's Office of
 Emergency Services, FEMA,
 Simpson Strong-Tie, and ATC.

The FEMA P-50 form assigns a
 Seismic Performance Grade for
 detached single-family, wood-
framed homes for their quake
 readiness. Professionals such as
 general contractors, structural

 engineers, home inspectors, building officials, and emergency
 management specialists can perform the evaluations, and provide
 homeowners with the Seismic Performance Grade that identifies areas
 of the home in need of retrofit.

The class is free, but those interested must sign up. All sessions are
 from 9 a.m. to 3:30 p.m., with lunch provided. Those who participate will
 get six Continuing Education Units.

Class dates and locations:

October 8 – Riverside: Simpson Strong-Tie, 12246 Holly Street,
 Riverside, CA., 92509.
October 20 – Sacramento: Cal OES, 10390 Peter A. McCuen
 Blvd., California Room, Mather, CA.,95655.

https://www2.cslb.ca.gov/OnlineServices/MailList/MailSignup.aspx
http://www.earthquakeauthority.com/Pages/default.aspx
http://www.earthquakeauthority.com/Pages/default.aspx
http://www.caloes.ca.gov/
http://www.caloes.ca.gov/
http://www.fema.gov/
http://www.strongtie.com/
https://www.atcouncil.org/
https://www.fema.gov/vi/media-library/assets/documents/92229
http://events.r20.constantcontact.com/register/event?oeidk=a07ebcf45ln445649c5&llr=zbhocyrab
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Online Guide Helps Keep Your Contracting
 Business Out of Tax Trouble
Keeping up with the tax obligations related to operating your business
 operations is a vital part of being a successful contractor. The state
 Board of Equalization (BOE) offers an online guide to help construction
 contractors better understand tax issues that are unique to their
 business.

The Tax Guide for Construction Contractors has information helpful to
 those starting out in business, or those who want to expand their
 existing operations and don't want to make a tax misstep.

The guide is separated into sections that cover several different tax-
related issues.

Another valuable BOE guide that explains California sales and use taxes
 for contractors is Tax Tips for Construction and Building
 Contractors.

Only You Can Make a Change of
 Address, or Email – Not CSLB
Remember to include your email address, or update it, when

 submitting your license renewal form every two years, or when

 you submit an Application to Change Business Name or

 Address. CSLB cannot alter an address or email – the only

 person allowed to change that information is the licensee.

Send your current business email address to CSLB to participate

 in licensing surveys, electronic correspondence, and important

 license-related communications. It is your responsibility to keep

 all of your contact information current with CSLB.
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http://www.boe.ca.gov/
https://www.boe.ca.gov/industry/construction.html
http://www.boe.ca.gov/pdf/pub9.pdf
http://www.boe.ca.gov/pdf/pub9.pdf
http://cslb.ca.gov/Resources/FormsAndApplications/ChangingBusinessNameAddress.pdf
http://cslb.ca.gov/Resources/FormsAndApplications/ChangingBusinessNameAddress.pdf
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Providing your business email address on your renewal or change

 form also enables you to automatically receive the board's

 quarterly newsletters and other important information CSLB

 issues through industry bulletins or meeting notices. You also can

 sign up to receive communications through CSLB's online Email

 Alerts feature.

https://www2.cslb.ca.gov/OnlineServices/MailList/MailSignup.aspx
https://www2.cslb.ca.gov/OnlineServices/MailList/MailSignUp.aspx
https://www2.cslb.ca.gov/OnlineServices/MailList/MailSignUp.aspx
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Use the Correct CSLB Application to Save
 Time, Money
If you're adding a classification to or replacing the qualifier for an
 existing license, be sure to use the correct CSLB form to avoid
 accidentally paying higher, non-refundable fees – and delaying your
 application in the process.

The fee to add a classification or replace the qualifying individual on a
 license is $75. However, CSLB is finding that an increased number of
 applicants are mistakenly turning in the Application for Original
 Contractor License form, along with the $300 fee. The application for an
 original contractor license results in a new license; it does not modify an
 existing license.

In addition to the lost time and money, licensees whose application was
 rejected but still want to add a class or change a qualifier must start the
 process again by turning in the correct forms – and the $75 fee.

License Applicants, Schools Can Still
 View Experience Verification Webcast
Anyone

 who

 plans to

 become a

 licensed

 contractor

 can

 benefit

 from a

 CSLB
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http://cslb.ca.gov/Resources/FormsAndApplications/ApplicationForReplacingTheQualifyingIndividual.pdf
http://cslb.ca.gov/Resources/FormsAndApplications/ApplicationForReplacingTheQualifyingIndividual.pdf
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=7138.&lawCode=BPC
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 webcast

 that

 clarifies the experience verification process that all applicants

 must undergo to qualify for a license.

The two-and-a-half-hour session reviewed acceptable types of

 experience and the most efficient ways to document work that

 supports an applicant's claimed journey-level experience.

Better understanding of the experience verification process

 enables CSLB Licensing staff and licensing schools to work

 together to help applicants streamline their application process

 and begin their careers.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SkQtGaEGF8g&feature=youtube
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Share Your Expertise
Online surveys gather input on future tests, industry
 standards

To participate in future surveys involving current industry standards and
 recommendations about what information should be included in license
 examinations, you'll need to provide CSLB with your email address.

CSLB's "occupational analysis surveys" have transitioned to being
 completely online through the SurveyMonkey questionnaire site instead
 of paper surveys that were distributed through postal mail.

Since CSLB's testing division distributes up to 10 classification surveys
 each year, the online surveys provide significant cost-savings and allow
 staff to better track and organize the trade information submitted by
 participants.

Industry Expert Contractors
 Needed in Fresno Area
If you're a licensee in the Central Valley area with a
 C-57 Well Drilling or C-6 Cabinet, Millwork and
 Finish Carpentry classification – and hold yourself
 and your colleagues to high standards – CSLB may
 have a job for you.

CSLB is recruiting licensed contractors in those
 trades to join its Industry Expert Program (IEP), a group of construction
 professionals who assist CSLB staff in investigating consumer
 complaints.

Industry experts serve as independent consultants to CSLB, and are
 compensated for their time.
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http://www.cslb.ca.gov/Resources/FormsAndApplications/ChangingBusinessNameAddress.pdf
http://cslb.ca.gov/About_Us/Library/Licensing_Classifications/C-57_-_Well_Drilling.aspx
http://cslb.ca.gov/About_Us/Library/Licensing_Classifications/C-6_-_Cabinet,_Millwork_and_Finish_Carpentry_Contractor.aspx
http://cslb.ca.gov/About_Us/Library/Licensing_Classifications/C-6_-_Cabinet,_Millwork_and_Finish_Carpentry_Contractor.aspx
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IEs have a unique opportunity to help ensure that construction safety and
 industry standards are being met. An IE inspects assigned projects, and
 prepares unbiased, professional reports to help protect the public from
 unscrupulous or incompetent licensed and unlicensed contractors. An IE
 also may be called upon to testify in arbitration and/or administrative
 hearings.

IEs must be licensed and in good standing with five years of experience
 as the license qualifier, and have no legal or disciplinary actions against
 them within the past seven years to qualify for the program.

To participate as an IE or for additional information, review CSLB's
 Industry Expert publication, or send an email.


https://www2.cslb.ca.gov/OnlineServices/MailList/MailSignup.aspx
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/Resources/GuidesAndPublications/IndustryExpertProgram.pdf
mailto:mary.miller@cslb.ca.gov?subject=CLC Newsletter: Industry Expert Inquiry
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CSLB Newsletters Dating Back to 1930s
 Now Archived Online
You can now take a glimpse into the rich history of California's
 contracting industry, and its regulators, by accessing CSLB's online
 trove of licensee newsletters dating back to the early days of the Board.

CSLB has archived its newsletter collection starting from 1937, when the
 first issue of California Licensed Contractor was introduced. The
 newsletters are accessible by clicking here.

CSLB staff is now in the process of gathering and posting a collection of
 all Board meeting minutes, dating back to the first public Board meeting,
 November 18, 1935, almost 80 years ago.

Covered California Open Enrollment
 Opportunity
Licensed contractors know that a serious burn, electrical shock, a fall that
 wrenches a knee, or a mistake with a saw or nail gun could take them off
 the job and leave a mountain of medical bills. That's why having health
 insurance is so important.

Your chance to apply for coverage is coming up during Covered
 California's annual open enrollment period that runs from November 1,
 2015 through Jan. 31, 2016. Covered California is California's health
 insurance exchange, established under the Affordable Care Act. It is a
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 one-stop shop where individuals, families and even small businesses
 can choose from among private name-brand health insurance plans.

You can no longer be denied health
 insurance because of a pre-existing
 condition. There are no annual limits on
 how much your plan will cover, and
 there is now a ceiling on the amount
 paid out of pocket each year for doctor
 visits, hospital stays, and medications.

You may be eligible for financial assistance to help pay for your health
 insurance through Covered California. Nearly 90 percent of current
 Covered California enrollees receive some level of premium assistance.

Starting in January 2016, Covered California will offer more plans,
 access to more doctors, and more benefits. In addition, most plans will
 offer many services that are no longer subject to a deductible.

Visit the Covered California website to enroll online or use the "Shop
 and Compare Tool" to compare options and get prices. Click on "Find
 Local Help" to see where you can get free, confidential assistance.

Contributed by Covered California


https://www2.cslb.ca.gov/OnlineServices/MailList/MailSignup.aspx
http://www.coveredca.com/shopandcompare/2016/
http://www.coveredca.com/shopandcompare/2016/
http://www.coveredca.com/get-help/local/
http://www.coveredca.com/get-help/local/
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Quick Quiz
1. True or False:

Lawn/grass painting
does not require a
contractor license.

2. What is the most you
can take for a
deposit on a $20,000
home improvement
contract, per Business and Professions Code (BPC) section
7159.5(a)(3)?:

a. $10,000

b. $2,000

c. $1,000

3. Which is the correct way to draft a payment schedule to
conform with contract law (BPC section 7159.5(a)(5))?

a. $60,000 upon ordering of custom cabinets

b. $60,000 upon fabrication of granite countertops

c. $60,000 upon delivery of custom cabinets

4. True or False: There is no contractor license or certification
for mold remediation.

5. The most appropriate classification for the installation of a
wooden sign is:

a. "B" – General Building classification

b. Only a C-45 – Sign contractor

c. Either a C-45 – Sign contractor or a D-42 – Non-Electrical

Sign contractor.
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6. When is a written change order necessary according to state
contracting law (BPC section 7159(d))?

a. Only when a customer does not agree with the change.

b. Any time a change is made to the home improvement

contract.

c. Only when a customer will be required to pay more than

the original home improvement contract.

Answers:
 1: False – A C-33 Painting contractor license is required;   2: C – A
 deposit may not exceed $1,000.00 or 10 percent of the contract price,
 whichever is less;   3: C – Payments may not exceed the value of the
 work performed or materials delivered ;  4: True – but only if the spraying
 is done without removing drywall or performing any other structural
 alteration;  5: C ;  6: B – A written, detailed change order must be signed
 by both parties before work begins any time a change is made to the
 original contract.

https://www2.cslb.ca.gov/OnlineServices/MailList/MailSignup.aspx
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